Good people go to heaven, bad people get rich

“Herbert Pocket had a frank and easy way with him that was very taking. I had never seen anyone then, and I have never seen anyone since, who more strongly expressed to me, in every look and tone, a natural incapacity to do anything secret and mean. There was something wonderfully hopeful about his general air, and something that at the same time whispered to me he would never be successful or rich. I don’t know how this was. I became imbued with the notion on that first occasion before we sat down to dinner, but I cannot define by what means.”

Philip “Pip” Pirrip (narrator) from Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens. Chapter 22. Page 143.

Thanks to collaborator Ananda Almeida.

Leave a Reply

